What Binge-Watching Can Teach First-Time Managers

How to turn all those hours of Netflix into productive leadership lessons

Francesco Marconi
Life Well Lived
6 min readFeb 9, 2016

--

Being a new manager is no easy feat. For the past few weeks, I’ve been looking for ways to inspire the team around me. I’ve spent hours reading through management books, but most of what I read didn’t speak to young professionals.

“It’s about finding the right financial incentives,” the books told me. “Establish your authority,” they kindly advised. But what I saw around me suggested otherwise: Managing millennials is about more than just financial rewards. They want collaborative work places; they want to make the world a better place; and they’d prefer to be their own boss.

So what does that mean for a first-time manager tasked with motivating a young team?

The answer occurred to me as I was watching Netflix one night: What if there was a connection between everyone’s favorite nighttime hobby and leadership? Did I have more to learn from today’s most popular shows than a shelf full of books?

Combining my own observations with leadership lessons from characters on my favorite TV shows, I’ve created a personal management playbook that feels particularly right for our generation.

Don’t lose sight of yourself

Be loyal to yourself before you’re loyal to others

Photo courtesy of Netflix

It’s difficult to navigate a career. Life is full of people asking me for favors, sometimes just for their own benefit. In fact, the Journal of Personality and Social Psychology published an academic paper that examined earnings data to determine that men who rank high in “agreeableness” — i.e. how much they value getting along with others — make up to $10,000 less per year than men who are less agreeable.

The best example of this is probably Frank Underwood, the wily politician in House of Cards. He leads by exerting authority and demanding loyalty. While I’m not advocating being as ruthless as Frank, his character reminded me that while I should be involved in my colleagues’ interests, I shouldn’t lose sight of my own.

Recently, someone I met at a conference asked me for help in overcoming a small strategic challenge he faced. It seemed like a harmless request from an industry peer who just wanted to “pick my brain.” But for knowledge workers such as myself — strategists, lawyers, marketers, creative directors and consultants, our brain is our breadwinner. A surgeon probably wouldn’t operate on somebody just as a favor; a designer likely wouldn’t create book illustrations for free. Often, by agreeing to every favor, you risk overextending yourself and lowering the perceived value of your qualities. In order to help others, including those whom you report to, you have to first define your own boundaries.

Build a dream portfolio

Set goals and share them with others

Photo courtesy of HBO

Goals can help you become more determined and make you more likely to pass down that motivation to your team. Psychologist Gail Matthews at Dominican University found that people are 42 percent more likely to reach their goals by just writing them down.

No one knows more about goal-setting than Hollywood agent Ari Gold in Entourage. Whether it was acquiring new talent, expanding business ventures, running his own studio, or even exploring new industries for the sake of his brand and legacy, Ari’s hunger was never satiated.

While he pursued new ambitions, though, he didn’t forsake previous ones. By setting goals and communicating them with his assistant and peers at the Miller Gold Agency, Ari kept time from slipping past him.

He’s a reminder to use determination to propel forward in life, to never give up, and to remember that passion and persistence will solve almost anything. Entourage also emphasizes life as a team sport — in order to reach my own goals, it’s helpful to know where others are coming from, as well.

Develop empathy

Understand how people feel

Photo courtesy of AMC

In practically every aspect of my life — whether it’s angling for a promotion at work or explaining my ideal plans for a night to my wife — I try to understand where the other person is coming from. Relatability shouldn’t be overlooked; according to strategic communications firm West Wing Writers, 63 percent of people recall stories a speaker shares, but only 5 percent can remember a single statistic.

In Mad Men, advertising executive Don Draper understood that he needed to put the customer first and think of his or her happiness above all else. This approach meant looking for a deeper need that hadn’t yet been met in his customers (or peers or bosses), and using that to sell a product or an idea.

Don reminded me to think about the goals of the person standing in front of me. I need to truly understand what they want, while surfacing my own views and opinions. Only then can we collaborate to reach mutually beneficial solutions.

Achieve greatness through others

Give your peers a stake in your success

Photo courtesy of ABC

I’ve had good and bad jobs, but I can honestly say I enjoy going to work each day and working with my boss. Although I can’t study my own behavior, the University of Iowa published a study that workers who feel empowered by their employers are more productive and have higher morale, regardless of their industry.

In How to Get Away with Murder, law professor Annalise Keating found a way to leverage the bright minds of her students by making them feel a part of her success. They all shared a mutual desire to prepare powerful defenses and win cases.

This approach works every time you work on team projects. For example, when managing interns, I always treat them as if they’re experienced professionals. Building trust in others while working in groups will keep all members motivated — each person is held accountable by their peers and above all will make sure to give their best.

Annalise reminded me to give peers their due credit, and then some. Often, the solution is found only through a combination of their input and your own, requiring you to be flexible with how to reach your goals.

Interpret multiple personalities

Understand what type of behavior best works with people

Photo courtesy HBO

In much the same way that different people have different goals, they also have contrasting personalities. Psychologist Daniel Goleman has found that leaders with the best results do not rely only on one leadership style, but rather, that they seamlessly switch between different ones.

One such “high-impact” leader with emotional intelligence is Daenerys Targaryen from Game of Thrones. She can be democratic, encouraging team members to share advice and opinions, or authoritative, uniting and mobilizing her followers toward her vision of reclaiming the kingdom.

Watching Daenerys reminded me that no two situations are alike and that no two people are alike either. Keeping that in mind will help not only with current team members, but also new ones.

The next time you sit on your couch, remember that you could be witnessing life-changing inspiration. What have your favorite shows taught you?

The Life Well Lived section is sponsored by The Guardian Life Insurance Company of America.

--

--