Life Lessons from Frodo

Reha Bublani
Life with Frodo
Published in
2 min readApr 15, 2017

Before Frodo came into our home, we spent a few weeks getting puppy ready. This meant reading up extra on making it feel at home, puppy proofing by removing the “unnecessary” stuff, buying the “necessary” stuff, getting mentally prepared for a few noisy nights and most of all gearing up for the change in routine we were about to witness. What we did not expect was a this tiny baby which was handed over to me. On the few occasions that he was walking, he was wobbly!His vision was, we are certain, blurry. His ears still had not completely opened up. A big responsibility at hand.

A baby of a different species in inexperienced hands can cost a life.

Yes there was hesitation. A bit of apprehension. But things were going smoothly. The first few days were uneventful and I found myself gleaming with happiness.

The weekend was over and it was back to work. Frodo and I were to spend the Monday together at home. Him sleeping. Me working. The day began on a high. I found Frodo running after me and pawing me to play. It was one of the sweetest mornings in a long long time. As the day progressed I found Frodo suffering from diarrhoea. From loose stool to plain water. He refused to eat and slept or sat all day energy less. A quick google search and I knew it was not all good. Puppies can get dehydrated in hours. And what if he had already caught some ugly virus?

At some point when I held him close, I could feel his breath against my face. Those puppy eyes looking at me with immense innocence. And the tiny tongue trying to lick my nose. I cried. The joy of having a pup brings with it immense responsibility. And while a part of me experienced immense guilt for separating him from his mother, the other was determined to give him a fighting chance, no matter what.

Taking an unvaccinated pup to the vet is a task in itself. And I rushed to a couple of them before finally finding my ground. Frodo had not eaten anything since morning and had severe diarrhoea. So when the vet offered him a small piece of mashed soggy glucose biscuits and he gulped it down like the hungriest soul ever, I found myself crying and smiling at the same time.

Frodo helped me revisit a few important lessons that day – life is transient. I swear I thought we were losing him. But then wasn’t I jumping the gun? And then he also taught me to fight. He fought because I fought.

Nitish says Frodo is going to pick our energy. And for him, the pessimist in me is looking for optimism; the scared version of me is looking at the fearless. 10 days and I feel so much calmer! So much more the look forward to!

Frodo is a happy baby today jumping and running with his puppy energy! Touchwood! Our mornings are getting sweeter and our bond with him, stronger!

--

--