Lee is one of our Data Scientists here at notonthehighstreet and very, very good with the numbers

Lucy Ballance
We are Team NOTHS
Published in
4 min readMar 20, 2018

--

Lee — happy with his calculator

Tell us a bit more about your role here at notonthehighstreet…

I’m a Data Scientist. Data Science is a relatively new area to the business and we try to leverage the information we constantly gather and turn it into a competitive advantage. It involves both problem solving and problem finding.

What has happened over your time here?

I think the biggest change is that we’re making genuine strides towards what we want the ideal notonthehighstreet to look like. From a Data perspective, the business is using more data-driven insights, we’re working with more teams than ever before, and the confidence the business is putting in us is definitely growing. Following the hire of Andrew [Data Director] last year, and the recruitment of more people into our team, it feels like we’re on a clearer path to help the business fire on all cylinders.

What were you doing before getting the job here?

While it seems like a former life now, prior to this I was an academic. My degree was in Experimental Psychology, which led to a PhD in the genetics of psychological traits. My love for genetics took over and I then worked as a postdoctoral researcher investigating the genetics of cancer and stem cells. It was during my postdoc that I discovered what I really loved most was the predictive quality of data. It was also the point I realised that academia was no longer for me, so I looked further afield and realised that there was a role in commercial business that fitted the criteria perfectly — a Data Scientist.

How was the transition from academia to notonthehighstreet?

From a job-seeking perspective, relatively straightforward. In terms of the day-to-day, that was a little less straightforward. Applying Agile principles, wondering why we had so many meetings and being dependent on Github was a steep learning curve! But I quickly came to realise the importance of these things; they foster better collaboration and ultimately better business. I’d say I’ve grown more in 18 months working here than I did in more than six years in academia.

What exciting projects are you currently working on?

The things currently occupying most of my time at the moment are a) improving the “product impact score”, b) understanding customer lifetime value and c) how we can improve ‘Search’. Currently, the product impact score — which is used to order products on our listing pages — is a bit one-dimensional. We’re experimenting with different ways to surface new products, making the algorithm more reactive to new data, and trying to bring seasonal products to the fore before our customers realise they even want them!

Customer lifetime value is a new project, but it has massive implications for decision making within marketing as well as helping us improve the shopping experience for more of our customers.

For the Data team, Search is largely untapped but it’s going to be great working with Tech!

What would you say to someone applying for a job in the Data team right now?

Keep an open mind, keep your eyes on the problem, and never neglect your stakeholders! I personally think the media places too much emphasis on Data Scientists having to understand the inner workings of the algorithms we use. While understanding these inner workings is an intrinsic part of being a Data Scientist, the problem should come first and the algorithms second.

I also think it’s important to not neglect personal development. Data Science is moving really fast; and in order to understand where it’s going, ensuring time for your own self is really important. Notonthehighstreet is great for this; allowing you time out of your day-to-day to focus on areas of personal interest. If only I could take my own advice!

What’s your favourite thing about working here?

There’s a good vibe. People are relaxed but focused on what they need to do. You can feel it as soon as you walk through the doors; it’s a belief and sense of support for what people want to do. I can’t quite put my finger on exactly what it is; but it makes you want to do well and make the business better. I genuinely come into work feeling I’m allowed to put my own creative stamp on the business.

What are you looking forward to over the next 12 months?

All of the testing we’re going to be doing! We always talk about “test-and-learn” but the Data Team have yet to fully exploit it. We’ve got a mammoth backlog and so many ideas we’d like to roll out… I’m just looking forward to implementing it all. It’s also going to be great working more closely with more teams and understanding their challenges. That’s what differentiates a job from a career. People work at notonthehighstreet because they want a career — they’re passionate and want to make a difference.

Do you want a career with a purpose?

--

--

Lucy Ballance
We are Team NOTHS

Employer Brand Storyteller @ notonthehighstreet. Telling the unique stories of our wonderful people. 📚