Bread with a Twist on Top

Sanchit Gupta
Life and Tech
Published in
4 min readJan 21, 2018
bring food and pour it down my open mouth!

Weekends, laziness and food-crisis are things which go hand in hand when you are a bachelor living away from home.The extra-long hugs with your bed and an afternoon bath are the only starters you get for the day.

Today was no different, with sleepy eyes I manage to enter the kitchen in search of food just to realize it’s a weekend for my cook as well (:/).

Give me so that I can give out

My tummy, like always fails to understand this “dilemma” of food crisis and is growling ever so loudly. Instant food has always been unsuccessful in satisfying this hunger; hence I ignore that option and start to scan the raw materials/things present with me —

  1. Raw vegetables: Carrot, Capsicum

2. Eggs

3. Mayonnaise

4. Spices and butter

5. Bread

6. Red chilli and green chilli Sauce

If you are a bachelor, then I sure you will agree that this is more than enough food we like to have in our houses/flats. As I sat pondering, what to do about all this stuff a brilliant idea struck me. What if I make a bread pizza cum something to top my breads with stuff (Back at home we call this “Gajjar wali bread”) from this. I set to work and within 20 minutes I had my food ready with me, and like always I will brag, it was one of the best breakfast/snack I ever had.

Coming to its recipe, I’ll tell you step by step so it’s easy to follow and you too can satisfy your growling tummy with my food hack.

Let’s go chop chop chop

We’ll start by chopping the above mentioned veggies into a bowl, also make sure that they are fine enough but still can be identified as separate pieces. Once you have these cut out in a bowl mix them with each other thoroughly and keep it on the side.

Heat a pan preferably a non-stick one and add some butter on its surface. Once the pan is hot enough, drop the chopped veggies into the pan and stir it continuously. While doing so add a tiny bit of salt according to your taste and some chat masala (I prefer this), to your mixture. Once the veggies are cooked a bit, generally 5 minutes into the cooking make some space in the pan and break 2–3 eggs into the mixture, if you don’t have eggs try the same with Paneer. Once you have the eggs/paneer in the pan turn your flame to max and continuously stir the mixture.

After 2–3 minutes of cooking with the eggs while stirring the mixture add some red and green chilli sauce to the mixture for better taste and with it add Mayonnaise too. Mayonnaise plays the role of a binder to the mixture and also makes it look/taste good.

Once you are satisfied with the color of the mixture and it looks cooked, turn the flame off and cover the pan with the lid to steam cook the veggies. Let the mixture cook by itself while you prepare your bread in a toaster. You can even bake your bread on a tawa if you like it soft but if you someone who likes eating it crisp and well done, then toaster would be better.

Mixture with eggs, done!

Bread is done, mixture is done, so what the hell are you waiting for. Pour the mixture on the bread, top it off with any sauce or mixture you want and tada, you have made yourself a fairly healthy home cooked, Gajjar wali bread :p

and it’s done ❤

Enjoy the bread and do let me know if you have any suggestions or ideas about the things you want to eat. I will surely come up with a simple hack for the same, till then keep reading. Cheers!

--

--

Sanchit Gupta
Life and Tech

A Roboticist, An Entrepreneur and a tad bit Curious