Your Mom was Right (Again!) — Veggies are Good for You

Bisk
Life@Bisk
Published in
4 min readJan 24, 2017

--

Hi everyone, I’m Rachel from the Bisk Healthy U Team, and I have a confession to make. I’m a terrible chef. In fact, even suggesting that I can be classified as a chef is a disservice to chefs around the world. In my house, we joke (not really) that my cooking comes with a “no guarantees policy.” Despite the fact that a handful of my dishes don’t turn out as expected, I don’t allow myself to turn to eating out or ordering delivery on a regular basis.

So, if you feel like your cooking is subpar, know you’re not alone. And here’s the good news: You can still make healthy meals at home with limited talent.

I won’t call any of the following “recipes” because that word intimidates me and, to be honest, I hardly follow recipes in the first place. Instead, I’ll share a few easy-to-assemble dishes that even I can’t mess up. I want to prove that you don’t need to be a world-class chef to serve up easy, delicious and healthy meals.

You Gotta Eat Your Veggies

Why vegetables? They are high in nutritional value and low in calories. What a deal! As you’ll see, they’re also simple to prepare.

Single-Tray Veggie Delight

This is one of my favorite dishes. I toss together carrots (chopped into 3-inch sections), brussels sprouts, sweet potatoes (cut into fries), cranberries and sunflower seeds drizzled with a touch of avocado oil on a baking pan and voila! Olive oil can also be used.

You can add some balsamic vinegar if you’re feeling festive, or fresh herbs if you want to add a little zip to your dish (rosemary usually works well for me).

Cook at 325 to 400 degrees for 20 to 35 minutes or until the desired tenderness. (Remember, cooking time and temperature will vary depending on the ingredients and oven.)

Some less-fancy groupings to consider:

  • French green beans, almonds, light squeeze of lemon juice, avocado oil drizzle, and half a pinch of salt and pepper
  • Broccoli and potatoes with walnuts and raisins
  • Red, yellow and orange peppers with snow peas and sesame seeds drizzled with sesame seed oil
  • Asparagus and tomatoes with olive oil and balsamic vinegar
  • Zucchini and squash with olive oil and half a pinch of salt and pepper

Salads

OK, I know what you’re thinking … My goodness, salads are so boring!

Well, it’s time to reconsider. When I make salads, there are a few elements that ensure they are delicious and vary from day to day.

The best part, it’s not rocket science. It’s just assembly of great ingredients! I even buy pre-grilled chicken every week to avoid cooking.

The first trick to keeping salads interesting is varying your leafy greens. I enjoy rotating through mixed baby greens, arugula, butter lettuce, spinach and romaine. Look at that! You could have a different lettuce in your lunch (or dinner) every day.

The next step is to pick a flavor group or one or two toppings that taste good together. Here are some of my favorites:

  • Greek salad — Add any combination of olives, fresh tomatoes or sundried tomatoes, chopped zucchini, canned artichoke hearts, feta cheese or mozzarella cheese, and any other items you think would work well. The only limit is your imagination.
  • Mexican salad — I enjoy fresh corn, black beans, baked sweet potato fries, orange peppers, pico de gallo or salsa, avocado, cilantro and fresh lime juice. This salad doesn’t even need dressing if you use a delicious salsa. Don’t take my word, try a few options and decide for yourself.
  • Goat cheese and fruit — There’s something irresistible about arugula with goat cheese, a chopped fruit and a dressing made with olive oil, balsamic vinegar, honey and lemon juice. Try this salad with plain or honey goat cheese with strawberries, blueberries, grapes, apples or pears.
  • Bonus: add walnuts, almonds or sunflower seeds and craisins or raisins.

I hope you’re encouraged to try one of these dishes or look for better options on the internet or in a cookbook. At the very least, maybe you have a new appreciation for how much better your cooking is compared to mine!

Either way, homemade meals are the best for your body because you know exactly what is going into your food.

Cheers to a happy and healthy 2017!

Written by Rachel

--

--