Internal Transfer Story EP. 2 — Maprang, from Senior Business Analyst to Product Owner

Life at Sunday
Life at Sunday
Published in
3 min readAug 29, 2023
Maprang, from Senior Business Analyst to Product Owner

After working as a Senior Business Analyst at Sunday for years, I decided to shift my career path to a Product Owner role. I realize that I enjoy figuring out user-demanded features more than fulfilling user requests. Especially in the area where we do the research in order to prove my ideas and create proposals. As a Product Owner, it’s also allowed me to build my own squad, which is also an interesting part that I didn’t have a chance to perform in my previous role.

“I think that when there is an opportunity to show off your potential and your interest, you should grab that chance to shine.”

During the Annual Performance evaluation, when we were discussing my future career path, I decided to discuss with my supervisor what I wanted to pursue as a Product Owner. After completing the internal transfer process, I had the opportunity to work as a Product Owner for Shared Services.

“I always try to act like half-empty glass because I believe that we can learn from everything and I’m ready to learn and ready to make more mistakes in order to develop myself! ”

A blast night at Sunday New Year Party 2023!

With more responsibility on hand, this role allows me to try more (and make more mistakes) compared to the previous role. This made me grow a lot more than before, with a broader perspective. I can see myself growing on this path with expectations at a higher level.

“I can feel myself standing in a spotlight while I’m working here.”

Work that creates value for the organization, with the authority to make a decision and sincere feedback. These things have made me feel self-worth and happy throughout my time working at Sunday since day 1.

Dinner with Share services squad — Dev, Tech Director, and QA.

“Having an internal transfer in the same workplace with more challenges can reduce your culture shock in the workplace.”

Changing jobs at the same company also has its challenges. We have a chance to experiment and learn. The pros are that you already know the team, and the product, and are familiar with the culture, which is one of the big parts of the workplace.

If you can prove to yourself that you have a strong interest in advancing your career, your manager will be happy to fully support you. Also, you can try to do a trial period before transferring, and if it doesn’t go well, you can say that you’re not ready to go on.

….

Interviews and editing by the People and Culture team.

--

--