Internal Transfer Story EP. 3— Sun, from Software Engineer to Business Analyst

Life at Sunday
Life at Sunday
Published in
2 min readAug 29, 2023
Internal Transfer Story EP. 3 — Sun, from Software Engineer to Business Analyst

“Having the opportunity to try Business Analyst roles while being a Software engineer made me even more interested in the role!”

Starting with a small team gave me the opportunity to be involved in various parts of the project. One of them is the Business. After 3 years of working as a Software Engineer, I decided to request a transfer because I wanted to grow more in the business field.

Instead of moving to another company, I decided to speak to my supervisor to discuss internal transfer opportunities. With this opportunity, it will allow me to continue with Sunday and still work with the familiar faces within the Squad and Chapter.

Dinner with the Dev, Product Owner, and Tech Director.

I have the opportunity to explore more Business Analyst roles while still working as a Software Engineer. I feel that this transfer allows me to gain a better understanding of our products and customers from a business perspective. This has greatly improved my communication skills, especially in non-technical communication such as negotiation and solution discussion at a high level with stakeholders.

“It’s been a year since I started my new role as a Business analyst, and with this exposure, I wish to continue my career path as a Business analyst. There is still much to experiment with and learn here.”

At first, I was very excited and challenged to switch to the new role. It took me a while to adjust to the division of duties with the team. However, the Insurance knowledge that I gained during my time at Sunday as a Software Engineer has helped me adapt to the new role.

“I think if we know ourselves, we want to sidetrack our career paths. You can try starting to observe and explore internally.”

Bowling Night 🌠

Sunday allows me to observe other Squad and Chapter work; this is beneficial for me as a newbie to understand if it matches my expectations.

….

Interviews and editing by the People and Culture team.

--

--