Internal Transfer Story EP. 4— Natsu, from Senior Customer Service Agent to Product Trainer

Life at Sunday
Life at Sunday
Published in
3 min readAug 30, 2023
Internal Transfer Story EP. 4 — Natsu, from Senior Customer Service Agent to Product Trainer

“I found a better version of myself with more confidence and more skill in people's development.”

After working in Customer Service roles for 3 years as a Customer Service Agent, I received an offer from my manager to consider relocating within the company as he saw my potential to grow more as a Product Trainer due to my educational background and interests in teaching. He was right! After half a year since I moved, I found a better version of myself with more confidence and more skill in people's development. And in the next year, I believe that it will also grow.

“My gut told me to give it a try; how difficult would it be?”

I have been thinking hard about accepting an internal transfer offer because change is something I am always afraid of. I am more used to dealing with customers over the phone backstage than in my previous role. But with this new role as a Product Trainer, I have to work more on stage. This role will require me to meet more people and communicate more. I decided to take this chance, and this allowed me to gradually step out of my own comfort zone. After a few tries, I developed myself the way I expected and more than I thought I could.

Meal with Customer Service Team

“Going through stress made me stronger.”

I didn’t have in-depth knowledge of the new role from the start, but I picked it up when doing it. At first, it was very hard, but having colleagues helped me a lot to share my work experiences, both good and bad. Facing new challenges has made me more resilient when dealing with difficult tasks. And makes me create new works better, such as thinking of new materials to make presentations easier to understand when I am training the client.

“Why are you giving up so easily?”

My manager said this to me when I was facing a burnout state at work because of a personal issue. He is my lifesaver and makes me think that it’s not that hard to work here anymore. I try to show my strengths at work as much as I can and try to think positively by using the motives of those around me to push myself, not to diminish them. Sometimes they don’t tell me directly, but they will let me know the areas where I can improve and give me more courage to do the job better. They made me who I am today, and I am so grateful.

“Everyone has a safe zone where you can go back anytime. But if you don’t try to break it out, you will never know how much more you can do. Maybe you'll find something you like more.”

I suggested you try to break out of your own boundaries. If you have any questions or are tired of your current job, let’s take a break for a while, set a time to talk to your manager, and maybe try to find another position in the company because here there is always a place for you.

….

Interviews and editing by the People and Culture team

--

--