Internal Transfer Story EP. 5— Tik, from Senior Accounting Officer to Regional Accounting Officer

Life at Sunday
Life at Sunday
Published in
3 min readSep 11, 2023
Internal Transfer Story EP. 5 — Tik, from Senior Accounting Officer to Regional Accounting Officer

“With the support from my manager and colleagues who believed in my potential, I was able to re-establish my self-worth and be ready for the internal transfer.”

After about 5 months of working in my previous role as Senior Accounting Officer, I started to question what I really wanted to do. I was quite confused at that time. I thought that I was not suitable for the insurance business at all since I was not familiar with the regulations and accounting standards. I started looking for another job and told my manager that I wanted to resign. I got to have a valuable discussion with my manager, and that made me open up and accept more challenges.

Meanwhile, I received an offer from Ryuji, Sunday’s Chief Financial Officer, to relocate my role to the Regional Finance team. I didn’t immediately accept the offer because of insecurity about my skills; I didn’t have experience at the regional level, so it was very challenging for me. However, my manager was the one who always had my back. She made me feel that the Company valued me and believed that I could grow more if I was open to facing challenges, so I started to believe the same way as they did.

Ryuji, Thames (Interns), Ice, Tik — Regional Finance Team.

“Although I don’t expect much from working in the new role because I want to start learning all over again. But what I learned far exceeded my expectations.”

I have to push myself quite a lot to work on this new role. With the larger scale at the regional level and the relatively rapid growth of investment in insurance. I have to coordinate with more people to overview the accounting work in both Thailand and Indonesia offices. My language skills have improved a lot because I have used more English. I have practiced in managing and prioritizing work because there are many tasks that come in at the same time.

I’vne also gained a better understanding of insurance business, but I still think insurance is the most complicated business I’ve ever encountered. Also It was important for me to learn to let go of the perfectionist habits in the little details that I used to be in the old role. that may cause me to miss the big picture of work in this new role.

Attending Digital CFO Asia Forum.

“I learned to turn my fears into challenges and face them.”

At first, it was quite difficult for me. I was scared and put a lot of pressure on myself because of all the new and unfamiliar work. However,all colleagues here relieved those fears of mine. They knew what my strengths were and always encouraged me. It took me some time to adjust but I’m still trying to learn and grow in this role. Even now my fear has not disappeared but I have learned to accept and live with it.

Tik enjoy dinner with Sunday Care Squad along with Finance team.

I think if you’re interested in any position or have any confusion on your career path, just speak to your manager because they sometimes are the one who know us best and may see our potential that we may have overlooked.

….

Interviews and editing by the People and Culture team

--

--