The life of a Software Engineer Intern at Sunday🔥

Lew Xun Yi
Life at Sunday
Published in
3 min readJul 19, 2023

Hello, I am a 3rd year student studying at Nanyang Technological University. I’m going to share my internship experience at Sunday Ins. as a software engineer intern

How Did I Joined Sunday

OEP visiting Sunday

I was part of a university program called Overseas Entrepreneurship Programme(OEP) that sends students overseas for internship and the university recommended me to interview for the software engineer intern role in Sunday. During the interview, there were 2 technical question tested followed by a sharing after about what to expect and what you can learn from this internship.

Expectation Before Starting The Internship

I was excited yet nervous to start this new journey of my life for the next 6 months. I was excited because I had the opportunity to go to Thailand to learn and to experience the life there. On the other hand, I was nervous because I did not know how to speak Thai and was worried that there would be a communication barrier.

During The Internship

My worries before starting the internship was gone once I was introduced to the team I was working with. The team was friendly and treated me well. They changed to using English for their meetings and if the discussion had to be done in Thai, they would ensure to update me in English after. I felt very welcomed but also felt bad as it took time to translate for me.

My team was lead by Boon, who was a great leader, he understood the strengths of the team and knew how to delegate tasks effectively, ensuring that tasks during our sprint was just right. He also has great problem solving skills, unblocking the teams problems making sure that we are not stuck on any tasks.

I also had a patient and smart mentor, Ong, who taught me a lot and guided me throughout the internship. Most of the things I learnt from the internship, I learnt from him which I am very grateful for. Overall, this was a great internship where I was able to learn so much about the different aspect of software engineering.

OEP Night With Sunday

Sharing by Mr. Suradej Panich, Chief Data Scientist of Sunday

Sunday hosted an entrepreneurship event for OEP students for us to network with others and for us to learn more about entrepreneurship through sharings during the event. Mr. Suradej Panich, Chief Data Scientist of Sunday, also had an insightful sharing about how Sunday started and grew, giving us many advice and tips on how to start our own business.

Welfare In Sunday

Dinner with my team

We were given welfare allowance to spend to go out to eat as a team or to do team activities. There is also a snack pantry where you can grab an assortment of snacks whenever you are hungry

Summary

My experience here in Sunday after 6 months has been amazing. I would like to thank everyone in Sunday who have helped me during this internship.

--

--