2023 Bad & Good And The Next Roadmap For 2024, Decentralization & Rust

Hiraq Citra M
lifefunk
Published in
8 min readDec 31, 2023

--

https://depositphotos.com/id/photos/2023.html

2023 Stories

Today, 31 Dec 2023, a year has been passed. There are bad (and very bad) & good things that happened, a lot of things I have learned (the hard way) this year.

Let’s recap all the things now.

Bad Thing(s)

This year, there are only two things that I think are really really bad that happened in my life

  1. Trusting the wrong person
  2. Has been laid off from my previous job

Well actually there is only one big mistake I’ve made this year and I’ve got a great lesson from there, trust the wrong person, then it will really destroy you from the inside out. What kind of lessons that I’ve got from this mistake?

We should not be too naive in this life. Not all smiling people a good people, the fact is, the most dangerous person is a person who always keeps smiling, for example: Joker.

Source: https://www.kapanlagi.com/showbiz/film/internasional/joker-juga-bakal-muncul-di-batman-v-superman-benarkah-a6e3c9.html

He is always smiling right, even before or after killing his victims, he just keeps his smile. Is he a good person? Ironically, yes he was. He was a good person before the world crushed him until his mentality and sanity were destroyed, and became Joker.

Smile, because it confuses people. Smile, because it’s easier than explaining what is killing you inside.

What happened to me this year, 2023, is a really bad thing for me. The laid-off is not so problematic, it is just a side effect of trusting the wrong people, it doesn’t matter what good things you did to them, once you connected with these kinds of people, you only be used by them. For them, you are just a tool nothing more.

What is actually my mistake? I cannot maintain my expectations. A naive person like me will put a lot of trust in someone and expect will get good treatment from them, and this is what destroys me from the inside out. The lesson is, that we should really maintain our expectations to everyone in any conditions.

The less things you expect something from someone, the less things able to make you disappointed

There are no good friends, there is only a friend, and not everyone deserves this title.

Good Thing(s)

Enough with bad things. Not every day we’ve got bad things, right? So what are the good things?

  1. Got a new job after being laid off
  2. More productive and a lot of personal achievements
  3. Use Rust 😃

Although I’ve had a really bad experience this year, at the same time, I knew and realized one thing for sure, I can only depend on myself. This thing forced me to develop better personal skills and to develop myself to become a better person.

Re-route your focus, and energy, from your external things to your internal thing, which is your own self. And this is what I did this year to try to become a better person, not for my company, my friend, my colleague, but only for myself.

I’ve learned a lot of things this year to develop my personal skills, especially about how’s brain works, and how to manage our thinking, and the results are really amazing.

What is like my journey?

  • Learn how to build my own second brain
  • Learn how to use my own life story to manipulate my own self and to rewrite it to make my own good story. It’s about a technique of storytelling
  • Learn how to manage my energy and focus in my daily and weekly activities

My results

  • I have two personal projects, and one already achieved this year, and it is this personal publication, LifeFunk.
  • In the other personal project, although it’s still in progress, I’ve had a really great achievement, I was able to finish the prototype on time, faster than I predicted, using technology blocks that even I still have many unknowns on it

An achievement is an addict for me now. Whatever it is, even though it is just a small thing, I am addicted to it. One good achievement, makes me want to seek other achievements, and I think it’s a really good environment for myself.

2024 Stories: Roadmap & Journey, A Year of Decentralization

Source: Dall-E

A new year, a new hope right? That’s what most people think, including me. So, what I will do next year?

  • Leave out all of my LogSeq’s graph notes and journals of 2023, start fresh with 2024
  • Start to continue this project, LifeFunk, since I had a hiatus last month because I needed to put my focus and energy into other things.
  • I have another personal project. This project is about decentralization something (I will not reveal it now), and I was able to finish the prototype this year (2023), next year, I’ll finish and release it to the public.

Goodbye 2023 journals, Welcome to 2024 journals

I have two stories published in this publication:

I’ve been using LogSeq all this time since it’s proven it helps me to maintain my weekly, daily, and personal OKR. Like I’ve said before, I will just leave out all of my notes and pages from 2023 or before and will start fresh for the next year, 2024.

Why? I’ve been writing many things all this time, is it worth it to leave all the knowledge that I’ve gained? The reason is simple, there is a bad (really bad) experience and episode in my life from 2023, and I don’t want this thing still affect me in the next year. So I made my own decision, that will leave out things from 2023 things, start fresh, and start simple.

I was building my great habits to always make stories for my monthly, weekly, and daily activities. This habit is really really great and helps me to deliver great results not just for my personal things, and also for my daily job routines. It’s all about storytelling technique. If there are some of you people that still not considering or don’t even know anything about storytelling, I really suggest you learn this technique.

Once you learn about this technique, you’ll realize, that actually our life is just a story, the decision of what kind of stories you want to tell, is depends on yourself. The solution is simple, start to write your own story. That’s why I decided to leave all the stories from 2023 and will make a new story for my 2024 journey.

LifeFunk — Continue Writing

Like I’ve said before, I have some hiatus to stop writing in this publication. The reason behind this project is I want to share my knowledge and experience about something. Before starting this project, I just removed all of my previous stories, except for this thing:

No, I will not remove this story, from the whole story of my life, this experience will not replaced with anything.

The LifeFunk is my personal publication, which should contain all positive stories and experiences from my life that I want to share with others, which I think, maybe someone out there got some help from my stories.

Besides as my place to share something, I was thinking that I want to build this personal publication as my media to promote something, well for now actually to promote my own things. So that’s the reason, I will continue writing stories for this publication start from the next year, day 1 in 2024.

Decentralization & Rust

Like I said before I have other personal projects, actually it was started from my midnight project. The story begins with my experience learning Rust. I’ve got several stories to relate with Rust

When I was learning this programming language I needed to real use cases in the project. In the beginning, it is just really hard to try this language, but when we get used to it, it is just like a gem.

This project actually is about the decentralization concept. No, it’s not about the cryptocurrency (not yet). The concept behind decentralization is really interesting to me, and I’ve got a really good motivation and story for it, I will create another story for it next year.

Outro

We will always have to face the bad and good things in our lives, whatever it is. It’s impossible to only have the bad things or only the good things. It is just about how we maintain our gratitude. But, if there are really bad things happening to us, something that will destroy us from the inside out, something that makes us stop doing anything and start questioning ourselves, then at the same time, it means a good thing.

The moment when you have to stop and start questioning yourself is the moment when you start to explore yourself, to know your own limitations, and to know your strengths and weaknesses at the same time, is the moment you start to develop and be a better person.

Just leave out anything that still has a connection to the bad things, and put our focus and energy on the good things. And remember this thing

Not everyone deserves the title of “friend” in our lives. Don’t be too naive. A “friend” is a potential enemy that someday they’re probable will stab us in the back. The problem is, we don’t know who, and we don’t know when

But, there is also a paradox happening in our lives.

Whatever bad things happen in our lives, just stick to being a good person. It’s better to get stabbed in the back rather than stab someone or others.

Being a naive person and dying, is still better than being a person that already given up on the good things, and made the wrong choices, such as Joker.

It’s ironic right? That’s called life.

--

--