Helpful Letter #31

Tom Handy
Life is Like a Game
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readNov 21, 2021

--

Hello fellow writers,

It has been too long and I apologize for the lapse in letters. Honestly, I didn’t have anything to say.

If I have nothing to say, I won’t write anything.

Lately, writing for me was hectic.

The number of Medium articles I wrote dropped.

I was spending more time on NewsBreak.

A few other freelance writing jobs also popped up.

January and a New Year are right around the corner

As the New Year approaches, it’s time to review your year. Yes, you still have a few more weeks, but by now you should have a general idea of how your year went.

It was either good, bad or so so.

You have 41 days from today.

  • You need to ask yourself, are you satisfied with how you did?
  • What can you do better in 2022?

With writing platforms morphing into something new like Facebook going to Meta, you need to change as well.

  • Will you write more on Medium? Other platforms?

This year a couple of writers left. I don’t know their story, but maybe they found better opportunities somewhere else.

How to scale my income

This year I started freelancing more and I was able to 20X my 2020 return which was all from Medium.

Don’t worry, I’m not making big bucks but I’m leaning in that direction.

I had nine other writing gigs, some short-term and some I’m still seeing if they want me to keep writing for them.

Then there is NewsBreak which is an interesting platform. You really need one or two articles to blow up to consider that a good month.

With base pay going away, it’ll be hard to replicate that in the future but it is possible.

So this makes me think about how I can at least 10X my returns for next year?

There is one area I am pursuing and it is not writing at all. So that could mean I may write less in 2021 but I won’t level this space completely. I’ll still write since the other venture is part-time but my schedule will vary.

But I focused more on articles that do well for me on Medium. The two main ones are cryptocurrency articles and articles on writing.

So there is still a lot of unknown for me. You may be the same way.

Each year, you need to reinvent yourself.

Your reader changes.

The platform changes.

You change.

So you need to be flexible and ready to make adjustments as needed.

Well, let me stop rambling.

Are you ready for the new year?

Tom

--

--

Tom Handy
Life is Like a Game

I ghostwrite articles for FinTech executives. Seen in Morning Brew, Money magazine, & Who's Who. Get my free email course https://tom-handy.ck.page/5bc47f9d15