Helpful Letter #33

Tom Handy
Life is Like a Game
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readJan 16, 2022

Hello fellow writers,

You may have seen I haven’t written much on Medium lately. Well, last week was my first week as a paid writer. The best part is I haven’t gotten fired yet. So that’s a good thing.

I started to write this letter as an article but didn’t feel like spending the time to think of a headline since the one I had wasn’t working.

This may or may not apply to you.

If you want to do something this year, sometimes you have to do less.

You may have to read that again.

If you want to do something this year, sometimes you have to do less.”

Basically, you only have so much time. You have the same 24 hours that every other person does.

You can’t add a 25th hour or pull an hour out of the air. You only have 24 hours. You only have so much time and your time is limited.

The key is if you want to do something different this year; you need to stop doing something else.

Maybe you need to cut back on watching TV, surfing the internet, playing video games, or whatever. You need to cut one of these things out if you want to do something important this year.

For the last two years, I have cut back my time surfing Facebook or Meta as they rebranded themself. Meta can suck you in and waste valuable amounts of time.

Do you really need to know what your friend who you never talk to is eating today or where they went on a trip? Most likely you don’t.

If you can’t cut Facebook out, set a time lime limit on how often to search the site.

At least you can feed the need to see what others are doing but don’t get wrapped up responding to their post. You’ll only waste your time that you could use working on your new project.

This was a quick one today. I’m planning to write a few more articles over this holiday weekend.

I hope you enjoy your week!

Take care,

Tom

P.S. — Are you on Twitter? I actually spend a lot of time here connecting with other writers and also share random thoughts from time to time. Connect with me here.

--

--

Tom Handy
Life is Like a Game

I ghostwrite articles for FinTech executives. Seen in Morning Brew, Money magazine, & Who's Who. Get my free email course https://tom-handy.ck.page/5bc47f9d15