Helpful Letter #34

Tom Handy
Life is Like a Game
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readFeb 7, 2022

Hello fellow writers,

Recently I wrote an article about Medium which I rarely do but felt this was important for you. Basically, I covered how Medium changed the platform where the claps were no longer shown on a writer’s page.

It appears this shows on a few writers but for most, the clap or hands are not there.

L.L. Kirchner, I found a page where the hand was still there on another writer’s page. On most pages, the hand is not there unless you click on the article.

In an article I have read, the hand is colored. But in articles I have not read, the hand is not colored which you can see below.

Screenshot from writer

On your page, I do not see the hands at all. For me, this helps me see if I read someone’s article or not. I only see these when I click on the article. Too many times, I have already read the article.

Screenshot from writer

Hopefully, Ev and the Medium team correct this.

This was just a short letter today but hope you have a great week writing.

Take care,

Tom

--

--

Tom Handy
Life is Like a Game

I ghostwrite articles for FinTech executives. Seen in Morning Brew, Money magazine. Get my free email course https://tom-handy.ck.page/5bc47f9d15