Helpful Letter #35

Tom Handy
Life is Like a Game
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readApr 19, 2022

Hello fellow writers,

Today, was an interesting day as I was asked to write for a well-known company, that you may be familiar with. You may have heard of the company - Vanguard. They are one of the most well-known investment companies in the world. In fact, I used to invest with this company over 20 years ago and know the products they provide.

Well, this morning a headhunter called and asked me if I wanted to interview with a company manager from Vanguard. Since I know the company and thought it was an honor to get asked, I politely declined.

I was thinking in my head about what the job might entail - of course, the pay was one benefit. I figured the role would be similar to what I do know since I write and edit for an investment company.

The role would be similar but I would do a few more things such as create slides on PowerPoint and other marketing newsletters.

In my heart, it wasn’t what I was looking for. So that is why I said no.

As a writer, you need to know your personal goals.

A few years ago, I would have said yes, immediately, without giving it a second thinking thought.

Today, since I have a little more writing experience, I declined.

Where you currently are as a writer varies by your experience, your personal goals, and also who you write for.

So there is never going to be an easy answer. In life, you grow as a writer. Sometimes you want more challenging roles, or you may want an easier role. It really depends on what you personally want as a writer.

Vanguard is possibly one of the most prestigious investment companies. Any investment writer would jump at the offer. For me, I thought the role would be similar to what I was doing now.

After I declined the offer, I looked up to see what Vanguard writers made. They earn about $15,000 a year more than what I currently make.

It sounds tempting now that I think about it, but I’ve gotten to the point where it’s not about the money anymore. I want to find a role that fits my schedule, my personal goals, and also provides a challenge.

Just to get offered this role is an investment writer’s dream. I don’t have a trained financial background since I learned everything just by investing.

But of course, it took me 25 years to get here.

If you were offered this, what would you have done?

Take care,

Tom

--

--

Tom Handy
Life is Like a Game

I ghostwrite articles for FinTech executives. Seen in Morning Brew, Money magazine, & Who's Who. Get my free email course https://tom-handy.ck.page/5bc47f9d15