A Nighttime Picture

Giulietta Passarelli
Lifeline
Published in
2 min readAug 25, 2023

--

August’s Third Week Prompt of Lifeline — beauty of the moon

Photo by Josh Miller on Unsplash

seeing a full moon as big as a planet
in the sky
it looked bigger than I had
ever seen it before and different
like it had a face, not happy or
sad, just kind of pensive like our faces
look when gazing at the stars
we are full of wonder then and sometimes
we may bring our troubles out
in the open because the moon has
a kind face and a light that soothes

it was a time for me when in love,
a new love was blossoming
and there was much uncertainty

the moon made me realize how big life is
and that others and I are just tiny dots
on this planet
reminding me how the forces of nature
hold us safe on earth

it also made me wonder about the size
of love too
which is even larger than the moon, creating
the existence of family, friends, children,
and meaningful others in our lives

--

--

Giulietta Passarelli
Lifeline

Author/Poet/Writer of middle gr. novels, short stories, poems, for adults, YA, the ageless: https://www.gpassarelli.com; updates website every 1st of the month.