All is Quiet

In the night.

David Rudder
Lifeline
1 min readJan 13, 2022

--

Photograph thanks to Felix Rudder.

Early in the morning
Before the break of dawn
Most people are sleeping
When I stretch and yawn.

I move from my deep dreams
And penetrate the dark
And listen carefully
Ready to embark.

All is quiet, in the night
Not a whisper or a sound
Morpheus is working
On yet another round.

Early birds are cooing
The brown-feathered dove
Sits patiently waiting
The epitome of love.

In the air there’s silence
Not a word is spoken
In the early morning
Before the spell is broken.

Tranquility is palpable
And mysteries unfold
Sentinels left watching
Come in from the cold.

Anxiety is silent
The air is cool and still
Not a whisper or a rustle
Comes from my windowsill.

Early in the moment
I appreciate the most
A time before the world
Moves from pillar to post.

The moon manages the moment
Like sentinels, we standstill
Enveloped inside the night
And the evenings chill.

©

David Rudder
2022

Thanks for reading.

--

--

David Rudder
Lifeline

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.