An Angel or A Landlord

You are both of them, my sweetheart

Hamsalekha
Lifeline
2 min readDec 10, 2021

--

Picture by author

Every sunrise,
I couldn’t rise,
Lying on the bed,
Felt confused,
Heaviness on my chest,
Murmur to myself,
Wonder if an angel exists,
To hear my mutter.

But the day changed,
Summer solstice arrived,
In my life,
When a feline angel meowed,
And glimpsed at me,
The eyes were the sunshine,
For my existence.

I am here today,
Writing about him,
My furry angel,
Headbutts me,
Welcoming me home,
As a sign of love,
Where I couldn't describe by words,
Even now through here,
But, I still write,
With serene and peace.

Yet,
He is the landlord,
Where all of my family members,
Serve him with care and affection,
We forget ourselves,
Watching him,
Invading our territories,
Jumping here and there,
With the feeling of amusement.

He taught me,
To be free as him,
To be jovial as him,
As life is only to live,
Not to waste,
With sorrow and sadness.

He is my landlord,
He is my angel,
He is my teacher,
Yet, he is a naughty,
Mischievous kitten.

Dedicated to my newly adopted kitten, Oreo. Thank you, Monoreena Acharjee Majumdar for a wonderful prompt on what sparked this moment for me to write poetry today. And I also loved Suma Narayan’s piece on her wonderful cats. Loved her work and pictures. And I invite Dr. Preeti Singh to read my poetry as she loves pets too and she shared it in one of her wonderful works. Check out their amazing works here below.

Subliminal Verses by Monoreena Acharjee Majumdar

(S)CAT! by Suma Narayan

Cat and Dog Living In Harmony By Love Energies by Dr. Preeti Singh

Thanks for reading!

--

--