Auditory Perception

A poem of sound.

David Rudder
Lifeline
2 min readMar 25, 2022

--

Photo by David Lezcano on Unsplash

I doubt I heard each word you said
You see I have a low auditory perception
In other words, I’m almost deaf
And use selective interception.

That is, to say, I hear the words
That suits me and I can handle
Something’s I heard when I could hear
Were only piffle and scandal.

I tried using fancy hearing aids
And heard every squeak and mutter
And if I tried to take it all in
I feared I’d end up a real nutter.

So, please raise your voice a little bit
And face my eyes while you are speaking
Speak slowly and talk clearly
So, I won’t end up, freaking.

It may sound like a tall order
But please I love the conversation
And even though I love my dog
He only speaks in Alsatian.

The audio tech at the hearing center
Told me I still have distance hearing
And can hear a train seven miles away
Long before it’s appearing.

I know the feeling when someone says
You’re wasting time because I never listen
But when it comes to seeing what’s there
With some help, I have twenty, twenty, visions.

Please be patient when I don’t answer
When you whisper shriek or mumble
I’m not ignoring you
It’s just a bungle in my jungle.

©

David Rudder
2022

Thanks for reading.

Become a Medium member for only US$5 a month!

Read every poem and story from David Rudder (and thousands of other writers on Medium).
Your membership fee directly supports David Rudder and other writers you read. You’ll get full access to every photograph, story, and poem on Medium. It will also give you a wonderful platform to publish and earn from your own poetry, photographs, and stories on Medium.

https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Lifeline

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.