Can Anyone Hear Me?

Jade Hadfield
Lifeline
Published in
Mar 10, 2022
Photo by Gwen King on Unsplash

There, upon the stage,
washed out by theatre lights,
there’s a girl who quivers,
wrings her hands and shivers,
as she steps up to the mic.

The silence pounds against her,
a mix of doubt and fear,
with audience proud,
an unfamiliar crowd,
she begins to whisper.

But they do not listen,
or do they not hear?
Louder she speaks,
until she screams, she shrieks,
ignored by her peers.

The chamber echoes,
why won’t they speak?
Staring and waiting,
no thoughts, no debating,
and defeated she leaves, weak.

Thank you for reading.

You can read my other poems here.

You can support me as an author by using my referral link to subscribe to Medium. A portion of your subscription will go directly towards me and is always a huge help.

Or, buy me a coffee! https://ko-fi.com/jfhadfield

Instagram|Twitter|Facebook

--

--

Jade Hadfield
Lifeline

Morbid and weird. Writing about the bizarreness of the world and my struggles with chronic illness. Check out my other media: https://instabio.cc/3061322bS0d4u