POETRY | CHRISTMAS | DEPRESSION | MENTAL HEALTH

Christmas Blues

A blue poem

Nikos Skordilis
Lifeline
Published in
2 min readDec 20, 2022

--

Santa figurine in blue, holding a white baby bear and a small bag of gifts. A Christmas tree made of snow flakes is on its left.
Image by Alexa from Pixabay

Another morning I wake up
feeling the Christmas Blues
I hardly work, feel like crap
I can barely tie my shoes

Prices go up, earnings go down
as I feel the Christmas Blues
my thoughts are scattered around
and I passively watch the news

Santa is bluest than ever this year
Christmas spirit feels like a sham
if somehow he really did appear
I don’t think I would give a damn

I watch our tiny Christmas tree
its LEDs blinking and flickering
to an inaudible song or melody
the sight is tedious and boring

I hate my lack of motivation
the Muses have completely shut up
and to my great aggravation
for Christmas I need to buckle up

Patience, only twelve days are left
till my Christmas Blues are dissolved
I hope l will by then feel less bereft
far less pathetic and more resolved

--

--

Nikos Skordilis
Lifeline

Curious Top 0.1% content creator gaining a more beautiful mind and a lighter heart via his words and visuals.