Denial In Style

Ninth Prompt Of Lifeline Poetry Contest

Colleen Millsteed
Lifeline
Published in
2 min readOct 24, 2021

--

The Refusal To Accept. Ninth Prompt Of Lifeline Poetry Contest. A Poem written by Colleen Millsteed.
Photo by Austin Schmid on Unsplash

This poem has been written as part of Sahil Patel Lifeline’s poetry prompts. Thank you, Sahil for the invite.

Today’s prompt is: Write a poem about when you first experienced success. What is your first memory of achieving something grand or special? What you felt when you achieved it. Write about your definition of success.

Doctors are only human

My first major success was tough
With a lot of blood, sweat and tears,
Taking it all one long day at a time
And standing tough against my fears.

I was young, only in my early twenties
When I was injured in a car accident,
Doctors informed me I’d never work again
And pain would make me it’s servant.

I was determined to prove them wrong
They’re professionals but human too,
Nobody can predict the future
I was determined to do all I could do.

I always knew it would be a long journey
But none of this had been in my plans,
I was not changing my career goal posts
For my dreams I’ll make a stand.

--

--

Colleen Millsteed
Lifeline

Top Writer in Poetry. I’m a Finance Manager with a love of both numbers and words.