Escape

I become part of the breeze.

David Rudder
Lifeline
1 min readDec 17, 2021

--

I close my eyes and drift away
Wrapped securely in my sleep cape
In the veils of night, I disappear
On my ultimate escape.

My mind flies over garden walls
And floats between the trees
Worldly thoughts are blown away
I become part of the breeze.

It’s a place of metamorphosis
I escape to in my dreams
Where everything is different
Or that’s the way it seems.

I fly o’er places never seen
Not mentioned on a map
And dive across vast oceans
In heavens center nature's lap.

A whispering wind accompanies me
We speak in dulcet tones
And visit ancient kings and queens
Perched on star-studded thrones.

My escape is beyond all measures
And cannot be quantified
And stays with me in heavenly sleep
Keeping me satisfied.

And when I wake from my escape
There’s a residue that remains
Yet now they’re faceless people
In escape that have no names.

Copyright reserved.

David Rudder
2021

Thanks for reading.

--

--

David Rudder
Lifeline

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.