Hiding Behind A Disguise

One can only pretend for so long

Ali
Lifeline

--

Photo by Tamara Gak on Unsplash

Hateful words spewed
Like daggers, they hit and pierce the skin
Pretentious
Narcissism at its best
Commander in chief of causing my suffering

A sign of jealousy from a ‘friend’
The friendship was make-believe
A Master of illusions
The most outstanding actor
Who played deception so skillfully for years

Performing my daily tasks
With fear inside
Despite the mask of happiness worn
The words and the acts began to cut deeper
Leaving scars that I could not hide like before

I picked up all the pieces I had left
Saving myself before I died inside
Exited through that door
Bolted it shut
Never once did I peek through the sides

Soon I was filled with joy
Touched by the incredible kindness of others
They welcomed me with open arms
Slowly, it brought back my happiness

--

--

Ali
Lifeline

Enjoys writing poetry but also creative fiction and nonfictional pieces! Creativity bleeds through me and that includes art!