I Ride

T.J. Hübner
Lifeline
Published in
1 min readJan 25, 2022
Photo by Unknown on Pixabay.com

I ride the metro
here and there
not knowing
the destination,
unsure of the where

All around are
masked faces,
unknown identities
with no traces
just eyes staring
back, unaware
of the pain
my own eyes
fail to explain

For there is a despair
that travels with me
every day, which
strangers never see,
an invisible ache
hidden behind a shield
disguising the feelings,
so hard to yield

As I ride this train
looking out
at the darkness
all about,
the past I can’t forget
flashes before
me with regret,
I see it reflecting
off the glass
as the memories
are recalled in mass

This is the pain
that is buried
deep within,
forever carried
no matter the
journey still taken
into the darkness
never to awaken
from this grief
which lingers long
and holds me in disbelief
making it hard to belong

so, the longer the ride,
the longer the pain,
the longer I hide
the feeling of going insane
as I see my masked face
reflected, back at me,
the eyes still vacant
letting no-one see
the agony endured
within my weary soul
which can never be cured

I ride the metro
here and there
not knowing
the destination,
unsure of the where

--

--

T.J. Hübner
Lifeline

Poet, Author, Writer and Ex-Caregiver — Dementia and Caregiver advocate. Lone wolf who has found his voice.