I Wished to Dance

Based on the failure prompt of the Lifeline Poetry Contest

Hamsalekha
Lifeline
2 min readOct 21, 2021

--

I wished to dance,
I always wished to,
I went to the class,
To learn the dance,
The classical divine dance,
Bharatnatyam.

The voice of guilt,
Halted me to dance,
It shouted at me,
Focus on study!
If you dance, you can’t focus!

The voice of inferiority,
Shackled my legs from dancing,
It shouted at me,
If you dance,
Everyone will laugh at you!
So, stop dancing.

The voice of identity,
Built a wall in front of me,
It shouted at me,
Your identity is different,
You are not meant to be a dancer.

The voice of security,
Froze me,
It shouted at me,
Creativity is pointless,
To eat food every day.

I didn’t realize,
How useless those voices,
They may be different,
But their origin is the same,
They were born from the evil of ego.

How unconscious were I am,
Gave up magnificent creativity,
For the sake of ego.

Creativity is my home,
Creativity is my journey,
Creativity is my destiny.

Nothing is too late,
I will start over again,
Now, I am manifesting creativity,
Through writings,
In future, I will manifest,
Through the divine dance.
Through the Bharatnatyam.

My heartfelt gratitude to Sahil Patel for the amazing prompt. It awakens me to start my journey towards creativity.

I’m joining the 30-day challenge with Brown Boi and Ali and this is the 18th work of this challenge. 18/30 done!

--

--