I Wonder

Joe Merkle
Lifeline
Published in
2 min readFeb 27, 2022

Is wonder really a thing?

Photo by Nicole Baster on Unsplash

Is wonder really a thing? Wonder always needs closure from other interrogative adverbs. I added visual content to this article to make my point as it seems I can’t write much anymore.

I wonder who will stop the rain?

I wonder what it’s like to be loved by you

I wonder where you were

I wonder, I wo wo wo wo wonder why she ran away.

I could not find a suitable video for “wonder when”, so I wrote this Haiku below.

I Wonder When

It’s three hundred days
Since I have been missing you
Seems like yesterday

You lay in my arms
With your head upon my chest
Whisper I love you

Wonder when I will
Breathe again without gasping
Or sleep through the night

Can wonder easily be replaced?

I wonder…I’m curious.

I wonder…I’m astounded

It’s wonderful…It’s amazing, it’s spectacular, it’s mysterious, it’s fabulous, it’s astounding, it’s inspiring…you get the point.

I’m just wondering if our vocabulary could survive without wonder. I think it would do quite well.

Thank you for reading this silliness. I hope you enjoyed the music.

©2022 Joe Merkle All rights reserved.

--

--

Joe Merkle
Lifeline

I write about love, life, loss, kindness, and gratitude. Toss in some fiction and humor and you have the meanderings of a multifarious writer.