If I Were a Fantasy Character

My Response to July’s Second Week Prompt of Lifeline

Qudsia Inam
Lifeline
2 min readJul 15, 2022

--

Photo by Kadyn Pierce on Unsplash

If I were a fantasy character

I wouldn’t want to be the genie

The genie of Aladdin

Who grants wishes to others

While being a prisoner himself

Caged in a lamp………..

Owned and controlled by someone else

I wouldn’t want to be a genie

Who can’t do anything on his own for himself

If I were a fantasy character

I wouldn’t want to be the magic mirror

A mirror who instills insecurities

A mirror that screams the flaws of others

A mirror that makes others feel less of themselves

A mirror that forces you to compare your worth with others

While not even having an identity of its own

If I were a fantasy character

I wouldn’t want to be a witch

A witch who snatches a little girl from her parents

To keep herself pretty and young forever

A witch who curses when she doesn’t find her way

A witch who has no control over her desires and aggression

Despite having all that magic and brains she had

I wouldn’t want to be that selfish, insensitive, and bad

Photo by Mary Jane Duford on Unsplash

If I were a fantasy character

I wouldn’t want to be the prince

A prince who danced all night with a girl

And still failed to remember her face or herself

A prince who let a pair of shoes decide

Who is the girl he claimed to be the love of his life

I wouldn’t want to be that shallow and blind

To be a charming prince without having a mind

If I were a fantasy character

I would want to be Anna

A girl who managed to keep her spirits high

Even when she faced the biggest loss of her life

A girl who never left her sister behind

Even when she was enraged

And looked like she has lost her mind

A girl who fought for what she truly believed

She tried and tried till she finally succeeds

--

--

Qudsia Inam
Lifeline

I write about topics including relationships, life goals, love, friendship and self-improvement, through articles and poetry.