Not a failure

a poem for the failure prompt of the Lifeline Poetry Contest

Neera Handa Dr
Lifeline

--

Photo by Max Bender on Unsplash

Yes, usually, I woke up a bit late

and missed the bus, or

the train or whatever proverbial I had to catch

So by the time I got there, wherever I had to be,

the bell had gone, the seats were taken,

and the doors were already shut.

yes, always missing out.

And sometimes, I went to sleep a bit early,

and didn’t see the glowing misty circle around the moon

to know that it will rain today.

So came home

soaking wet, a bedraggled un glamourous, ugly and uncomfortable wet cat.

I was told.

Always bringing stray dogs home

Always tarrying on the way to school

Losing my pencils, my ribbons, and my marbles, I think

Drawing and doodling in maths book

Giving away my lunch

Forgetting to do the homework

And day dreaming in the class

Or the days when I went to bed too late

--

--

Neera Handa Dr
Lifeline

Top writer in poetry & Sustainability, compulsive writer, reading, writing just about anything. I write daily, have published a PhD, a book & academic articles.