I’m Stealing Winter

A seasonal lover’s psalm

It's Ericajean
Lifeline
Published in
2 min readNov 29, 2023

--

April showers caught glaze
on all our windows
and Summer blazed through the
pours of my hot skin

There was just too much
to do, too much noise
too much livin’

Not enough silence.

In Autumn, I braced my
hands to catch a cold
just a tiny bit of snow dust
or a chill to make me grab my shawl

I’m stealing Winter
So my homebody
and not my home girls will
drop by

“Too cold to come out,”
they say.
I smile; lips stretch into
Wednesday’s eerie grin

The clear nights are warmer inside
The trees grow hands that stretch up
catching dancing snowflakes
that die upon contact

melt and become one in the ground
and the air that I like.

I like the quiet. I like how snow
is a lovely killer, silencing everyone’s
footsteps. Deadening

--

--

It's Ericajean
Lifeline

Essayist and poet | Author of Rumors of Ouroboros . Learn more about Erica at https://linktr.ee/itsericajean/