Interminable

How long will it last?

David Rudder
Lifeline
2 min readApr 26, 2022

--

Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

You and I and everyone
No one is ever spared
Life and strife are up and down
When our souls are laid bare.

It seems to be interminable
One thing after another
Chest infection toothache then
Pain under the cover.

A bacterial infection
Impervious to Penicillin
Another operation
It’s all far less than thrilling.

Now there is a gaping hole
Covered by another dressing
In and out of hospital
The experience is distressing.

Taking another anti-biotic
I feel sick as a dog
And though I don’t drink alcohol
It’s like waking after drinking grog.

My brain is in a muddle
The drugs play with my mind
Can you extract me from this bind?
If you’d be so kind.

It seems to be interminable
How long will it last?
Doctors say it could take months
It can’t pass too fast.

I know when it’s over
The memory will be gone
Interminable is intermittent
And never lasts too long.

©

David Rudder
28th February 2015

Thanks for reading.

Become a Medium member for only US$5 a month!

Read every poem and story from David Rudder (and thousands of other writers on Medium).
Your membership fee directly supports David Rudder and other writers you read. You’ll get full access to every photograph, story, and poem on Medium. It will also give you a wonderful platform to publish and earn from your own poetry, photographs, and stories on Medium.

https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Lifeline

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.