Lifeline Poetry Challenge Day 18

Lessons learnt and forgotten

Neera Handa Dr
Lifeline
4 min readFeb 17, 2022

--

a poem in retrospect

Sydney Zoo Image credit author 2022

Sahil Patel has set these prompts at a pace, one each day, but I am just catching my breath, running a bit breathless, that’s one change in the past five years, well, it seems we are running out of time!

He asks:

How have you changed in the last 5 years? What’s the biggest lesson you learned?

It seems, it is expected of us all that we would change every year and five years, a big change!!

And then another assumption is that we learn something along the way. The biggest lesson, as if that’s possible for us all!!

So, if we are going with this five year changing plan, I am actually not a very changed person in the last five years, may be I’m a bit greyer, and wiser (ha!!), sadder (oh no), and more wilder (yes! comparative double!!).

I’m still going just as I always did, shaking my boundaries a bit trying them, and moving ahead,

Well, the difference in the past five years has been that, now I don’t venture much out of my orbit, literally.

I’d say, the biggest lesson, I’ve learnt in my life, not only in the past five years, is to keep moving, moving ahead, progressing, learning new things…

--

--

Neera Handa Dr
Lifeline

Top writer in poetry & Sustainability, compulsive writer, reading, writing just about anything. I write daily, have published a PhD, a book & academic articles.