Losing Someone

Pratibha Mohanty
Lifeline
Published in
2 min readOct 16, 2021

Remembering My Dad

Photo by Brittani Burns on Unsplash

If tears could build a bridge to you,

I would’ve been with you by now,

in the heavens, where you’re happy surrounded by all that you love.

I never realized, how fragile life was,

until you were cruelly snatched from us.

This still seems a joke, you still alive in my memories,

the very fabric of my being.

Every morning, your happy face popping up urging me to go about the day.

Every night before I sleep, you cheering me on reminding me of the happier times urging me to dry my tears.

How could it be, that I can no longer hear your voice?

How could it be, that I can no longer hug you?

How dare they add “late” before your name?

How dare they say you are “no more”,

when your energy still feels you are around,

For you are my Dad, the core pillar of my identity.

The man who brought me into this world.

The man who loved me, protected me, made me the person I am today.

We argued like friends, yet you knew when to discipline me.

You were tough to be around, but I could happily drown in the ocean of love you had for me.

For I was your first-born, a daughter who was never less than your son.

For I was your legacy, who you loved, cared, and protected until the very end!

My dear Dad, you are irreplaceable in my life.

So proud you used to be when they said I got your dimples.

Your heart filling with joy, every time you reminisced about all that I used to do as a little girl.

When we meet the next time around,

I pray you’ll forgive me for not being able to be the child you deserved to have.

I pray, that we’ll make up for all the lost time.

I pray, for your happiness wherever you are.

I’ll always love you, please pray that I heal from our loss.

Please pray, it doesn’t leave a dent in my heart.

~Your’s loving daughter

© Pratibha Mohanty October 2021 | All rights reserved

--

--

Pratibha Mohanty
Lifeline

Aspiring Writer | Programmer | Seeker | Traveler | Hobbyist Singer | Muse of Odissi (Indian Classical Dance) | Astrology | Metaphysics