Marooned

Deserted.

David Rudder
Lifeline
2 min readMar 30, 2022

--

Photo by Alexandra Nicolae on Unsplash

I’m searching on the horizon
The glare blinks back at me
I’m marooned and very soon
All I could see was the sea.

I feel like a shipwrecked sailor
Deserted lost and alone
I was jettisoned into the ocean
And no longer have my phone.

I wish I could call you this evening
It’s windy and looks like rain
The silence cloaks our connection
I fear I’m going insane.

The emptiness is like a chasm
Ready to swallow me up
Are you sitting alone in your castle
Or taking a sip from the loving cup.

Is he with you while I’m deserted?
Does he touch you like I used to do
Are you serving up my favorite dish
The sumptuous beef goulash stew.

I’m lying alone on this island
No one knows if I’m still alive
Is there a ship on the horizon
Zoned in ready to arrive.

I fear if they’re not here by morning
I might perish during the night
I’m sad sorry and lonely
And yearn for a slice of delight.

So, if you are still telepathic
Please send me a message or two
Say that you still can remember
When it was exclusively just me and you.

©

David Rudder
2013

Thanks for reading.

Become a Medium member for only US$5 a month!

Read every poem and story from David Rudder (and thousands of other writers on Medium).
Your membership fee directly supports David Rudder and other writers you read. You’ll get full access to every photograph, story, and poem on Medium. It will also give you a wonderful platform to publish and earn from your own poetry, photographs, and stories on Medium.

https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Lifeline

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.