My Beloved

Nadhir Muhammad Habibi
Lifeline
Published in
1 min readNov 5, 2021
Photo by Masaaki Komori on Unsplash

Yes! My beloved is tomorrow’s light,
moving from the past
from times of ignorance
and making the universe side by side
under the throne of God.
It is the horizon
flocking to
throw itself into the sky and the earth
into space, all absorbed
form a hue of beauty
on the melting ivory tower.
I love you
love the side of the lips that can’t
be kissed by poetry.
I love you
love the eternal lattice covered in the
language of the Diwani.

At the altar of longing at the end of a dream,
I prepare small parties to
welcome you:
I have read several love verses
I have sent a prayer for a third of the night
through the world that is scattered
under the soles of my feet!
Even if the pen runs out of ink
words run out of power to
speak in the dark.
Still, what’s bloodier
besides writing my love to you
about a message that can’t be
breathed into the air.
O my beloved,
you are the light of tomorrow,
moving from the past
from the days of ignorance
and making the universe side by side
under the throne of God!

--

--