Peace of mind

Finding this simple secret when life turns upside down

Kimberly Hampton Nilsson
Lifeline

--

Photo by Reneé Thompson on Unsplash

When life turns upside down
It’s easy to look and blame
Never my own fault, or else I’d be the clown
I assumed strength was a virtue, otherwise, looking lame.

Guaranteed, life will be a rollercoaster
Never a straight path; when the dream’s worthy of a chase
Avoiding shortcuts, bumpy roads and winding curves, colliding into disaster
Flexibility means redirection, counting on resolve; surely relaxation creates sanity, lessening so much haste.

Lacking experience, or any measure of confidence
The failures knocked; my inner voice loud, rude and abrupt
Days of misery and strain morphed into insight and independence
A relief that lead me forward; lest choices go astray; easily corrupt.

Routines and steadfastness, pushed goals over top
Highest value in my thinking; worthy of pursuit, through fat and skinny;
a wish for peace of mind
Balance and declutter; continual and nonstop
The secret; as close as the air I breath; stay focused with present awareness; a treasure of discovery; golden for it’s find.

Copyright reserved
Kimberly Hampton Nilsson
October 26, 2021

Thank you for reading.

#8/15 as the main character, what do I really really want. Awesome Sahil Patel! A prompt that has helps me polish priorities.

--

--

Kimberly Hampton Nilsson
Lifeline

writer, chiropractor, lover of travel, sport and adventure