Rained Up for a New Name

Viabel Oluwatosin
Lifeline
Published in
2 min readSep 28, 2022

A Pluviophile's Poem

Image from Freepik

In the middle of my heartache, at noon,
beautiful dark clouds tiptoed over the
mountain, past my metal rooftop,

onto my sunny patio, jasmined gracefully
on both sides. A strange aromatic scent
breezled its way into my heated nostrils; To be

‘Petrichor’ by name. Clusters of multiple moistures
spattered heavily, nonstop for minutes.
Upon the glassy skin of a wet window,

I steered my fingers back and forth
doodling shapes and figures
until I finally penned my middle name;

the sacred tag given to me by my
earthly grandfather. One secret down,
and I couldn’t resist her metaphysical urge

as it prompted me to spin more secrets
until there was no more space to fit in.
For the first time in days, I finally understood

the art of realistic communication.
Ever since then, I’ve been close friends with the rain;
who thought it wise to give me

an additional name; ‘PLUVIOPHILE’
a sacred lover - sister and playmate -
blessed with a newly refreshed peace of mind.

© Oluwatosin Okupa Sep 2022 _ All Rights Reserved

🔮Oceanic Bites from Me to You:
Are you a lover of rain? What does rainfall mean to you? I’d love to know how you feel. Share your thoughts in the comment section. Thanks for reading!!

This is a response to Sahil Patel’s third poetry prompt of September; A hearty thank you to Sahil Patel.

Hola! Oluwatosin Okupa here, from the shores of Ecstasy. Glad to have you here!!!

--

--

Viabel Oluwatosin
Lifeline

🙏 Call me the Creator's Creative Creature! 📝Creative Writer🖋Poet 💡Enriching lives through the power of words... https://enrichingliveswithtosin.wordpress.co