Recognition

Marie-Sandra Trudelle
Lifeline
Published in
2 min readSep 15, 2021
Image by Alem Coksa from Pixabay

I’ve met you before.
It was in another era down the timelines
of this wondrous thing we call life.
Your voice is intriguingly unrecognizable,
and your features are strikingly strange,
but I remember that sparkle in your eyes,
it entranced me with its stellar glimmer.

I don’t quite remember when it happened,
everything is a mind numbing blur
and I don’t know if I care to recall
who you were to me down the lines of time.
I don’t know how I know you,
all I know is that I know
that I’ve met you once before.

This thing we call a sparkle,
is the hint of a morsel of a memory
of the imprint we left on each other.
I don’t dream of the fate in the stars,
or romanticize the story of how they collide.
I know all of the stars aren’t up in the sky,
because we love to hide here under these skins.

I’m fascinated by the phenomenon,
of meeting an intimate stranger I once knew.
It was in another time, and it was in another place,
but I know that I’ve loved you once before.
I don’t know how I know you,
all I know is that I know,
that I’ve met you once before.

© Marie-Sandra Trudelle

--

--