Shades of You

March’s third week prompt of Lifeline — Colour

ADEOLA SHEEHY-ADEKALE
Lifeline

--

Image by Sergi Marlo on Unsplash

The sky has a thousand shades.
From the lightest blue,
that perfect backdrop to the wisps of clouds,
that appear from an invisible paintbrush and float on by.
To the blue of cornflowers,
as the summer sun bakes down,
tightening skin, wilting petals, and cracking the earth.

I have seen a thousand shades in your eyes also,
as you hover above me,
every expression visible in your gaze.
Unflinching steel softens into royal blue,
ice dissolves into sparkling water,
there is an ocean within you as wide as the sky above us both.

I lose myself in shades of blue,
laying beneath you,
back to the earth and the open expanse above.
I willingly imagine a code to decipher meaning,
to predict what will come next,
as I set myself adrift.

If you are interested in responding to this prompt, check out the original post below.

If you are new to this platform, you can Join Medium here to read more stories.

--

--

ADEOLA SHEEHY-ADEKALE
Lifeline

Writing on female experience, race, motherhood & self-development. Columnist at Green Parent magazine & Parenting Top Writer. Follow me on IG @adeola_moonsong.