Spring Planting

Left me panting.

David Rudder
Lifeline
2 min readMay 19, 2022

--

Photo by Benjamin Combs on Unsplash

My old veggie gardens
Were barren and sandy
So, I said, beg your pardon
And asked handy Mandy.

She said you need magic fertility.
And I know a brew
That needs no natural ability
And it is better than pooh.

She took me aside
And said don’t tell the others
They’ll come along for the ride
And may speak to their mothers.

Then whispered and spoke.
I’ll show you the brew.
Come round to the shed.
And I’ll show you what to do.

Now I know your nut
Maybe it is not the whole packet
So, no ifs or buts
It’s no kind of racket.

Three ingredients you’ll need
That will fix up the soil
And before planting the seed
So the crop will not spoil.

We know about the nuts.
I’ve explained it to you.
And it won’t take much guts.
To make up the brew.

Add two pounds of this.
And a bag of fertiliser.
Then turn on the power.
The result will surprise her.

Then sprinkle it around.
Where you’re ready to sow
All over the ground
Where you want crops to grow.

But be careful with matches.
Or I’m not a Pom
Cause if alight that it catches
It’ll go off like a bomb.

And so that was that.
Now I know about spring planting.
I mentioned it to the cat.
These ideas left her panting.

©

David Rudder
2022

Thanks for reading.

Become a Medium member for only US$5 a month!

Read every poem and story from David Rudder (and thousands of other writers on Medium).
Your membership fee directly supports other writers you read and me. You’ll get full access to every photograph, story, and poem on Medium. It will also give you an excellent platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports on Medium.

https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Lifeline

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.