Subtle Shades of Light

As day turns into night.

David Rudder
Lifeline
1 min readFeb 14, 2022

--

Photo by Casper Folding on Unsplash

Subtle shades of light,
I watch them creep and pause,
As day turns into night,
In quietness, light withdraws.

And then the stars one by one,
Turn on their magic glow,
I watch the moon on the run,
And the night light flow.

Stars flyby across the sky,
In meteoric showers,
Disappear and then they die,
As my perception flowers.

Quiet as flight they fill the night,
With eons still unknown,
Fills my heart with pure delight,
I come and leave alone.

There’s a hush before the blush,
Of rouge before the rain,
Poised afore the painter’s brush,
Joined in mornings refrain.

Then light delights my senses,
In shafts of silver spires,
I’ve abandoned my defenses,
And feed the morning fires.

The scent of stippling shadows,
From crowds of clouds seeps light,
And leak through glassy windows,
And swirl around in flight.

A pencil and epistle,
Subtle shades of light,
Rainbows in a crystal,
Refracted by eyesight.

©

David Rudder
2022

Thanks for reading.

--

--

David Rudder
Lifeline

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.