When I was a Boy

Life’s Chapters.

David Rudder
Lifeline
1 min readNov 3, 2021

--

Photograph by Meg Rudder.

I heard my name called
When only a small child
The scents and feelings in my mind
Flooded through me
And I was beguiled.

Filled with delight and wonder
And love from my grandfather
The smell of the earth
Jacaranda tree and goldfish
Another page in my life’s chapters.

Helping Dad, being strong
Appreciating being receptive
A free mind to learn and roam
The mysteries of nature
Helped make me perceptive.

Taught and encouraged
To be independent
Happily, lost in a daydream
Dexterous with my hands and
Forthright and unrepentant.

My blue eyes have the color
Of the sea and sky
The open road my direction
I catch a sunbeam for a ride
I laugh and when sad, cry.

From being that little boy
I’ve now grown older in years
Though within my heart
I’m still the same
The laughter and tears.

I am blessed
And I am blamed
Yet I can only be myself
To live each day
The best I can
Proud and never ashamed.

©

David Rudder
3rd November 2021

Thanks for reading.

--

--

David Rudder
Lifeline

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.