For my son

A poem about the struggles some children experience going through our ‘one size fits all’ education system, following a rigid curriculum and timetable, and how their voices can be overlooked.

--

An image of Cheryl’s son wading through a paddling pool, with his back turned to the camera and moving away.

Nobody listens

Please hear my voice

I don’t mean to be ‘naughty’

I just want some choice

Control of my own life

The freedom to run

Time for exploring

Time to climb, time for fun

I cannot conform

I don’t fit in the box

Can’t be trained like a dog

A number, I am not

You think I am ‘bad’

Dread the sight of my face

Think I don’t want to learn

But I have my own pace

Stop bracing for battle

Take time to know me

Let me know you

And then you will see

I’m just a small boy

Finding his way

With potential galore

Please hear what I say

I’m a third year mature student with the Lifelong Learning Centre, University of Leeds, studying for a BA in Child and Family Studies.

I’ve written poetry for as long as I can remember, as a tool to clear my mind of overwhelming emotions.

I wrote this poem for my son; to be his voice. He’s struggling to fit in to the ‘box’ that is school. I’ve realised that people aren’t seeing the ‘real’ child that is my son — they don’t know him, so only see his behaviour.

My son is not alone in these struggles. I believe this poem will resonate for many.

--

--