Spooky Season

A Halloween Horror Nights Scary Story

I went to Universal Orlando’s Halloween Horror Nights and faced my greatest fear

Vic Pinto
Life’s Funny
Published in
6 min readOct 20, 2021

--

Photo by Universal Studios

My first time at Halloween Horror Nights was a long time ago. I was eight years old. I was below the recommended thirteen-year-old age limit, so my older sister and her friends chaperoned. She argued I was too young and sensitive, but I complained until I convinced my mom to make her take me. The deal was: I go on every ride the adults wanted and absolutely no crying.

At home, I was too cool to be close or seen near my sister. At Halloween Horror Nights, I was different. A mist of darkness carrying creepy noises and characters in horrifying costumes covered the park. Five minutes in, I was already struggling to hold back tears. Visitors’ screams in the distance drowned my sister’s weak tries at making fun of me. I ignored her. I grabbed a fistful of her shirt and walked on, attached to her by the arm, with dignity.

Things got better when a creature/person jumped out of the bushes and scared the hell out of one of my sister’s friends. His nervous giggling made me laugh and did little to convince us he wasn’t scared. Nothing gives more courage than being around others more scared than you.

--

--

Vic Pinto
Life’s Funny

Little Jokes & Cartoons. Follow @BeakandSqueakCartoons on Instagram