Squirrel Delivery Service

Sunshine Zombiegirl
Life’s Funny
Published in
4 min readNov 25, 2020

--

They are gone in a flash.

Photo by Chelsey Faucher on Unsplash

’Tis the season to send cookies and other edibles to family members. I am no stranger to boxing up food for fun. So, when I asked my younger son what he needed, and he told me, “Oatmeal raisin cookies.”

I hopped into action.

I baked two kinds: oatmeal raisin with nutmeg, cloves, cinnamon, allspice, ginger, and star anise, and oatmeal chocolate chip with nutmeg and cloves.

The cookies were warm, gooey, and delicious when I covered them with aluminum foil. I slid them into the package that contained leftover red card sleeves, a reused glass jar full of Thai chilies, three full packages of steel-cut oatmeal, the leftover remains of the fourth bag of oatmeal, and ONE TINY HAND. Any porch pirate of repute would have taken the cookies and laughed his butt back to his lair after opening my gift.

Everything was packaged tightly, securely and taped closed so that it wouldn’t buckle under the pressure of USPS trucking packing. I did not coat the thing in tape like I usually do because my older son complained about how hard it was to get into his last package.

I handed off the box to a lovely lady who smiled when I purchased a card for later use and went on with my day. I knew USPS would take longer to deliver the cookies, but as long as they got there, I…

--

--