I’ll Call You Back: 2023 Senior Art Exhibition

Connor Downs
Lifestyle Journalism
2 min readMay 2, 2023

--

By Connor Downs

All University of Texas art seniors have their own set of trials and triumphs. One right of passage for soon-to-be graduates of the art school is being in the Senior Art Exhibition at the Visual Arts Center.

Every year graduating art students present their work in this show, highlighting their hard work and showing off the skills they’ve spent the last four years learning to master. It’s a time for them to reflect on their time spent as a student and what makes their art unique as they begin to look forward to the next stage of their lives.

This year’s exhibition contained the work of over 40 artists, two of them being studio art majors Alan Aguilera and Richard Greene.

“I really enjoyed seeing everyone in the exhibition, all forms of art, all forms of creation happening,” says Aguilera. “Because I’m an artist, I was looking at what my classmates had done, only to come back to the studio to do what they were doing and let them kind of teach me.”

Many mediums of art are included in the exhibition from painting, sculpture, photography, multimedia, and more, representing work from a diverse set of creatives.

Both students praised the community they’ve become a part of, and how much it’s taught them about themselves and their art.

“It’s nice to celebrate others, the achievements and moments they’re having. That’s something I wasn’t super aware of before my time here,” says Greene.

I’ll Call You Back: 2023 Senior Art Exhibition will be on display at the UT Visual Arts Center from April 14-May 6.

--

--