Logging on, checking in: Mindfulness & wellness apps provide stability amid pandemic pressures

Zoe Judilla
Lifestyle Journalism
4 min readApr 20, 2021

By Zoe Judilla

Graphic by Zoe Judilla and Dylan Keesee

It started with the night terrors.

After trudging through the day glued to her cell phone, constantly refreshing the bird app in search of updates on an emerging deadly virus, Lauren Cook would go to bed completely drained, mentally exhausted and physically weak. But when nighttime fell, it refused to provide any form of relief.

“I would wake up in the middle of the night screaming, my heart racing,” Cook said. “It was just really bad.”

March 2020 was not a good month. So, the fourth-year business and sustainability major at the University of Texas at Austin decided to do something about it.

For the past year, Cook and droves of others across the world enduring the COVID-19 pandemic, have begun using mindfulness apps to combat the persistent anxieties that come with a new way of living. From Calm to Sanvello to YouTube meditation videos, various wellness platforms have seen an increase in use since the beginning of the pandemic.

There are currently as many as 20,000 self-care apps, with most growth among products that provide short-term mental health support, according to a 2021 report by the American Psychological Association. While the popularity of such platforms has increased, psychologists have recommended them as a supplement to, instead of a replacement for, traditional treatment.

In addition to seeking out therapy and medication to ease her anxieties, Cook also started using Headspace, a structured meditation app that emphasizes the importance of personal mindfulness. She said the ease and accessibility of the platform has made her reexamine what it means to be fully present.

“There’s a very strong reinforcement that you don’t have to be perfect at it,” Cook said. “It’s just a nice reminder that you’re just doing this to breathe. And sometimes you’re not going to do it well, but it’s fine. It’s literally just to help bring you down and bring you peace.”

The appeal of wellness apps has even entered the classroom. UT Media Law Professor Amy Sanders began using Headspace six years ago when dealing with personal stresses in her life. While Sanders initially approached the app’s methods with skepticism, she later introduced the platform to her class in 2018.

“I just started realizing how powerful it could be in a world where we’re so distracted by everything all the time,” Sanders said. “When I first introduced Headspace into my large class, I actually thought the students would think it was silly. … But I was really surprised to see how many students were engaging in the mindfulness activity.”

Sanders has noticed students continue using mindfulness techniques in their daily lives; she said its relevance has only increased during the pandemic.

“The most important thing that I have learned is that you can’t take care of others if you aren’t taking care of yourself first,” she said. “And so many of us throughout this pandemic have had to take on extra care-taking responsibility, whether it’s for friends or loved ones, or children or younger siblings. It’s really easy with all of those additional responsibilities to put yourself last. But in reality, this is when we have to put ourselves first.”

For Micaela Garza, a fourth-year business and English major at UT, the end goal for using structured platforms is to develop your own means of maintaining your mental health. While Garza was a former frequent user of wellness apps, from journaling outlets like Jour to meditation sites like Endel, she increasingly found herself straying from technology-based methods of self-care.

“Apps are good for learning about what you need and what structure you’d like from things,” Garza said. “As much as people are really into mindfulness apps right now, a big part of mindfulness for me that I’ve learned in the past year is staying off of my phone and staying off of social media.”

Garza says the pandemic has been a big factor in her newfound take on mindfulness — while manual journaling remains her go-to wellness method, she recognizes apps as a helpful stepping stone to finding what works best for someone else.

“I feel like I have a better grasp of the importance of maintaining mental health, because I used to just wallow in my thoughts, my depression and my sadness,” she said. “And I feel like I don’t do that anymore. I’ve gained a new strength and confidence in myself and my mental integrity since the pandemic has started. Using these sources is a form of inspiration for that.”

While mindfulness apps continue to be a popular option for those searching for meaning in an era where the days seemingly run together, Cook said it’s ultimately about finding more ways to be as present as possible.

“I think there’s a real importance to being like, ‘Okay, I’m here now. And what am I doing right now? And how can I really make the most of where I am right now?’” she said. “I’ve found that it’s important to even be present in times where you don’t want to be. I’m hoping I do continue that, and I do continue mindfulness practices, even when things eventually get better.”

--

--