Planning Paralysis is ruining Us

Laila Regalado
LifestyleLines
Published in
4 min readJul 8, 2024

--

Still Planning?

I’ve always loved preparing and planning, especially for projects that mean a lot to me. I dive head-on into research and spend countless hours perfecting every detail. There have been countless times when I’ve found myself trapped in the cycle of overplanning.

I remember a particular project that was very close to my heart — a video I wanted to create that captured a deeply personal story. I spent weeks researching, scripting, and planning every detail, terrified that I wouldn’t do justice to the story I wanted to tell. The fear of not being perfect, of failing and being judged, weighed heavily on me. I felt paralysed, unable to take the first step, convinced that anything less than perfection would be a disaster.

It’s painful to admit, but this fear of failure is deeply ingrained in me. I’ve been a bit of a perfectionist, believing that only flawless results are worth sharing. This mindset has often left me feeling stuck, as the pressure to be perfect makes the task ahead seem insurmountable. The very act of planning, which, I thought, was supposed to set me up for success, became the biggest barrier to starting.

When the outcome isn’t the main focus, it’s easier to let go. I think, “It’s good enough,” and I enjoy the process. Those spontaneous projects where I take the plunge often turn out to be the most rewarding. They’re free, beautiful, and effortless.

Overcoming the Fear of Failure

The fear of failure is deeply rooted in our psychological makeup. From a young age, some of us are taught to avoid mistakes, to seek approval, and to strive for perfection. This conditioning can lead to what we call planning paralysis — the state where we overthink and overprepare, but never actually take action.

Psychologically, this fear stems from a few key principles:

1. Perfectionism: The belief that anything less than perfect is unacceptable. This can cause endless planning and revisions, with the work never seeing the light of day.

2. Fear of Judgement: Worrying about how others perceive our work. This can prevent us from taking risks and trying new things, as we fear negative feedback or criticism.

3. Fixed Mindset: Believing that our abilities are static and unchangeable. This mindset discourages experimentation and learning from mistakes, as failure is considered a reflection of our inherent worth.
Carol Dweck has conducted excellent research on this topic; her books are fantastic!

Embracing Imperfection and Taking Action

Overcoming planning paralysis requires a shift in perspective. I’ve found that embracing imperfection and viewing mistakes as opportunities for growth can be incredibly liberating. Instead of fixating on the end result, I focus on the process and the joy of creation. Yes, most of what I do will very well not see the daylight. And that’s fine. For now!

Starting small and allowing myself to make mistakes has been vital. I remind myself that action is better than endless planning, no matter how imperfect. By taking the first step, I break the cycle of overthinking and allow my creativity to flow. I invite playfulness.

The Journey is the Destination

Ultimately, the journey is just as important as the destination. Or even more! By letting go of the need for perfection and embracing the process, we can break free from planning paralysis. Where attention goes, energy flows. Focusing on doing, creating, and growing allows us to experience the joy and fulfilment of our projects truly.

I’ve learned that embracing imperfection is incredibly liberating. The projects where I allowed myself to be imperfect, where I just dived in despite my fears, turned out to be the most rewarding. They were raw, authentic, and filled with a kind of beauty that only comes from being genuine.

So, I want to share this with you: It’s okay to feel scared. It’s okay to worry that your work might not be good enough. But don’t let that fear stop you. Take that first step, even if it’s small. Trust in your abilities and let the rest follow. Embrace imperfection and see it as a part of your unique creative process.

Remember, your creativity and potential are waiting to be unleashed. The journey of creation is just as important, if not more so, than the final product. By starting, by allowing yourself to be vulnerable and imperfect, you open up a world of possibilities. You’ll find that your most authentic work comes from those moments of courage and spontaneity.

So go ahead, take that leap. Your story, your art, your ideas — they deserve to be out there, imperfect and all. And in embracing your imperfections, you’ll discover a newfound freedom and joy in your creative journey.

--

--

Laila Regalado
LifestyleLines

Neurones & Nirvana | I am a Psychology Scholar kindling the spirit's flame.