My Crypto Story — Part 1

LifewithCrypto
LifewithCrypto.blog
2 min readDec 1, 2018

Did I miss the bitcoin boat?

Kelly Sunshawl Barrett, Founder of Life with Crypto

Hello All!
I’d like to share my story about crypto. The story’s kinda long, but full of helpful information for newbies, so I’ll break it up into several segments. If you’d like to discuss any part of the story, please click on the Forum and post a discussion.

I first heard about Bitcoin around 2012 or maybe even 2011. I remembered hearing about it in the news and had no idea what it was. At that time, I was investing in the stock market via an online broker and I would watch CNBC regularly. That’s probably where I first heard about Bitcoin. I wasn’t looking for more information (later, I wish I had), because I honestly thought this Bitcoin thing was something only for smart, geeky, techy people. I really didn’t understand what it was or why I would ever care about it. However, I was curious.

But not curious enough. Like most of us, my life was very busy and I stopped caring about what the happenings with Bitcoin. Then around the fall of 2013, I started noticing that bitcoin was running up in price. In fact, it quickly reached an all-time high of about $1,100 in December 2013. I remember because that was the first time I heard the story of the Winklevoss twins. Back then the twin’s big news was about their fight with Facebook and Mark Zuckerberg. They claimed Zuckerberg stole the Facebook idea from them. Maybe, but whatever!

I learned that the Winklevoss twins were long-time proponents of Bitcoin. With the Bitcoin $1,100 price run-up, they both became bitcoin millionaires! I remember thinking ‘good for them’, but ‘bummer for me’ for not paying closer attention when I was first heard about it.

I thought I had totally missed the boat. I figured at $1,100.00 I couldn’t afford it anyway. Besides, I didn’t even know how to start! Disgusted with myself for not listening to my curiosity and my intuition two years earlier, I completely turned away from Bitcoin and didn’t give it any attention for a while. I figured Bitcoin was something way out of my league. (maybe or maybe not!)

…to be continued

--

--

LifewithCrypto
LifewithCrypto.blog

LifewithCrypto.com bridges the communication gap between Blockchain Technologists developing Internet 3.0 solutions and the Everyday People that will use them.