Mama

A Mother’s Day Special Poem

Vandini Sharma
Soul Vanni
1 min readMay 10, 2020

--

You envelop my life like a gentle glowing sun
Patient threads of virtues and dreams in me you have spun
We bicker, love and laugh as best friends do
There’d be a wonder eyed child in you even at eighty one.

I know I often don’t pay attention and brush you off
You whizz about like a shuttlecock all day between daughter and son
But in scared and anxious times, only you can make me laugh
Your words wash away my blues like the raindrops that fall.

We’ve looted the treasures of libraries and wandered far together
Holding each other’s hand in crowded trains and market stalls
You relentlessly believe in me whatever my emotional weather
And obsess about my every interest, no matter how banal.

A tireless miracle worker and gentle as a feather with your care
I love and admire you more with every memory we share
Mother’s Day is too small a day to value you
Even though today there is celebration in the air.

No matter how far away I go from you
You will always have my heart
You are my childhood friend, a blossom in my life
Nothing can ever keep you and me apart.

--

--

Vandini Sharma
Soul Vanni

I write soulful & heartwarming stories to inspire you. 💖 Awarded & published 🇮🇳 writer - AP, Forbes, New York Times & 50+ publications worldwide.